P5- Logos

P5MelissaDeason

Description: Create a logo for a company/ business using Adobe Illustrator.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills): I started out by sketching several designs, and then I began to work on the design in Adobe Illustrator. As the three designs progressed, I had to research several times to learn how to correctly build and how to utilize the many tools of Illustrator. After taking my three designs to the public, I decided to refine the one that was voted most favorite. During the refinement process, the design changed drastically. I originally had a hand painted look, which quickly turned in to what you see above. I am happy with the changes! I used alignment, kerning & tracking, complementary color scheme (teal & brick) and I even learned about how to utilize vectoring. I also learned a lot about plat designs and learned how to incorporate it in the design.

Message: To raise awareness that Melissa Deason (yours truly) has a Photography Business!

Audience: Those in need of Photography services.

Top Thing Learned: The top thing I learned was how to set up Adobe Illustrator how in a way that is a little more user friendly. I also learned how to use all the different tools before I began the design. I learned that YouTube is a great place to watch tutorials and how to utilize the Internet to my advantage while I learn this new program. I also learned a great deal of patience and how to manipulate and change a design.

Color Scheme and Color Names: Complementary (teal/brick).

Title / Body Font Names & Categories:

Title: Elsie Swash Caps- decorative.

Body: Lato- Sans Serif

3 thoughts on “P5- Logos

  1. I really love your design! I really like the color scheme you chose, and I can tell you put a lot of time and effort into this logo. I love the way the lens swirls and brings movement into your design. I love how you have the camera broken up into sections that are separated with the white lines, it gives the logo something special, and not a lot of people would think to do something like that. I also really love your font choices. I think they are clear, and I like how the A mimics the swirl found in the lens of the camera. I think my favorite version of your logo is the last one. Nice job! Here is a link to Kylee’s https://kyleeferrera.wordpress.com/2015/06/06/40/comment-page-1/#comment-8

  2. I love this design. The camera lens is the my favorite part, with its tie in to the “A”. It also works really well on the colored background to. It does not lose any of its design awesomeness without coloration. This is just a solid design. Great Job! This design reminds of yours a bit, check it out! https://adamjackson343.wordpress.com/2015/06/06/project-5-logos/

  3. Melissa: this is my favorite projects from the entire class; I especially love the camera that you used in your design. The colors and fonts are fantastic as well, I especially like the font for the A in “Melissa.” You are doing some great work. If you want to check out mine (it is a little similar with the whole camera thing) go to http://www.shutterchase.com/design. Also check out: https://saratf1884.wordpress.com/design/ for another cool design.

Leave a Reply

