Photodesign:

 MelissaDeason- P3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Description:

In this project I wanted to show photography knowledge, image editing skills, and how to incorporate color in a poster.

 

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles):

First I started off by choosing a color scheme; I then sat and sketched where I had seen the color I chose. I then photographed my Lego Batman in a mock home studio. From there I only used Adobe Photoshop. I tried to keep the design simple, clean and masculine. I used alignment to simplify and create flow in my poster. I decided on a decorative comic style font to enhance the design.

 

Message:

An advertisement for Batman and Lego fans.

 

Audience:

Batman and Lego enthusiasts of all ages and genders.

 

Top Thing Learned:

The most important thing I learned from this project was how to create a fluid design for your audience. In previous designs I’ve always teetered on the feminine side. This design I really had to focus on what an actual Batman advertisement might look like. I realized that I needed repetition, sharp lines, alignment, bold lines and bold color.

 

Color scheme and color names:

Monochromatic: White, Black, Grey and Yellow.

 

Title Font Name & Category:

Batman- Decorative

Copy Font Name & Category:

Myriad Regular- Serif

 

Thumbnail of original, unedited image inserted

 DSC_0278

 

Date and location you took the photo(s)

-Photo taken on May 18th, 2015

-In-home mock studio.

6 thoughts on “Photodesign:

  1. Well it’s Batman, the greatest super hero ever, so I have to love this design. In all actuality I really do like this design. Especially since you managed to capture the figurine’s shadow. That gave greater depth to the image as a whole and I felt that i was looking at something much more dynamic than just a simple flat photo. Well done!

    Here’s another example of this project…
    https://rachelveith.wordpress.com/2015/05/24/photo-design-project/

  2. You are so cool. I LOVE Batman, and I love Legos. I really like how you did something really simple, and how you found a cool way to do monochromatic. Excellent job! I’d love some feedback on mine: https://rcodycutler.wordpress.com/2015/05/23/project-3-photodesign/

  3. Hello Melissa!
    I love your design and I think you were super creative! I like your design because you chose batman(lego) and you picked the colors of his suit for the project. I also think you did a good job with white space.
    sofiaspannaus.wordpress.com

  4. I really like this! I love how white you were able to make the background after altering it in Photoshop, and I also love the colors you included in this classic design. I love the sleekness of it and the simplicity really makes everything pop! I also admire how you used wordplay to fit the color scheme…although monochromatic means using only varying tones of one color so I don’t know if you had caught that or not? I really love the image and how it stands alone and follows the rule of thirds and the diagonal alignment really emphasizes your title as well as the playful font you chose. Good job! 🙂

    Here is a link-back to my blog!
    https://devenkosciusko.wordpress.com/

  5. Melissa, I really like what you did with this picture. I love how simple you kept the design and made sure that title matched the image diagonally. It really looks symmetrical and sharp. I also like you touched up the image and made it much more vibrant. If you look at the original image it looks dark and has a grayish tint to it. Your picture makes it look amazing! Super white and the color scheme you used really gives great contrast to your eye. Awesome job!

  6. This photo is awesome. I love it. Your lines are clean, and lead your eyes across the page. Your text is also pretty funny. For a monochromatic color scheme, I would have liked to see more variations of your color. But, I really like how you integrated your colors into your design.

    You might also like: https://tanabolinger.wordpress.com/category/design/

Leave a Reply

